Monthly Readings

2019 Schedule – Balboa Park

First Tuesday of the Month at the Veterans Museum

All readings begin at 6:45 pm.

Tuesday, January 8: King Lear (Part One) – Directed by Thomas Haine (learn more)

Tuesday, February 5: King Lear (Part Two) – Directed by Thomas Haine

Tuesday, March 5: Antony and Cleopatra (Part One) – Directed by Charles Riendeau (learn more)

Tuesday, April 2: Antony and Cleopatra (Part Two) – Directed by Charlie Riendeau

Tuesday, May 7: The Comedy of Errors (Part One) – Directed by Kim Keeline (learn more)

Tuesday, June 4: The Comedy of Errors (Part Two) – Directed by Kim Keeline

Tuesday, July 2: Othello (Part One) – Directed by Kim Keeline

Tuesday, August 6: Othello (Part Two) – Directed by Kim Keeline

Tuesday, September 3: The Taming of the Shrew (Part One) – Directed by Patricia Elmore Costa

Tuesday, October 1: The Taming of the Shrew (Part Two) – Directed by Patricia Elmore Costa

Tuesday, November 5: The Winter’s Tale (Part One) – Directed by Darryl Woodson

Tuesday, December 3: The Winter’s Tale (Part Two) – Directed by Darryl Woodson

_____________________________________________________________________

2019 Schedule – Escondido

Third Tuesday of the Month at Barnes and Noble, 810 W Valley Pkwy, Escondido, CA 92025

All readings begin at 6:30 pm.

Tuesday, January 15: The Winter’s Tale (Part Two) – Directed by Connie Boyd (learn more)

Tuesday, February 19: As You Like It – Directed by Connie Boyd (learn more)

Tuesday, March 19: As You Like It – Directed by Connie Boyd

Tuesday, April 16: Romeo and Juliet – Directed by Connie Boyd (learn more)

Tuesday, May 21: Romeo and Juliet – Directed by Connie Boyd

 

______________________________________________________________________

Frequently asked questions  about the open readings

Q:  Do I have to read?
A:  You are welcome to show up and just watch.  We suspect, however, that it will look like too much fun for you to resist for long. A lot of newcomers don’t want to read initially but when they see how fun it is, they join in! But there is no pressure at all if you just want to watch and we have regular attendees who have never read.

Q: Do I have to bring a book?
A:  You don’t need to have the play if you just want to listen, but it can be fun to follow along in a copy even if you are not reading. At readings held at libraries, copies are kindly provided by the library. At other readings, if you do want to read it is recommended that you bring your own copy of the text to be read that night, a Complete Works, or at least a smartphone or tablet so you can find the text online.

Q: Can I act as a specific character or be in a particular scene?
A:  That may be possible.  Each evening has an assigned director who has planned what scenes to cover.  If you are really anxious to act in a specific scene, talk to the director at the start and see what can be arranged.  No guarantees, but if the scene is being done that night, it might be possible.  All scenes are cast that night right before they are read, so usually, everyone who wants to act has the chance to do at least a small role.

Q: Who can participate?
A:  Everyone!  They are free and open to the public.

 

 

There’s also a Meetup website page for our readings. Please click below.

San Diego Shakespeare Society Meetup